Christmas

24 Dec

Consumerism, consumerism, blahblahblah, consumerism.

No, really, I love Christmas. Like, a lot lot lot lot lot. I’m not religious at all, so it’s not that kind of holiday for me. It is, however, a time to celebrate those things – no, not things…people – who mean the most to me: my family. I don’t just mean biological, although my mom and brother are at the top of my lots-of-lovin’ Christmas list. I also mean my friends who have given so much time and energy and love to my life that they have become like family to me. I really do believe that friends are the family you choose, and I know I’ve chosen wisely.

However, as the beginning of my post noted, I’m really getting sick of all the Christmas consumerism bullshit. So here’s my Christmas disclaimer: if I don’t buy you a present, it’s not because I don’t love you and it’s not because I’m not thinking about you during this special time of year. It’s because I’m sick of spending money on things that are going to sit on shelves or in drawers. I’m sick of spending money on things that are produced using slave labor and shipped thousands of miles, contributing to the pollution that is killing our planet. I’m sick of packing three bags full of stuff to bring home for winter break and still having half my wardrobe left at school.

I love my family. I love my friends. And presents are nice. Sometimes, they’re incredibly meaningful. But I don’t need them in order to enjoy Christmas. I’d much rather you sponsor my trip to Santiago, Chile next fall, or donate to one of the charities on this list.

Despite what advertisements and commercials and magazines and movies try to tell us, we don’t need stuff to make us happy. All I need is some good food, some good wine, and some good family to crack jokes and tell stories with.

I love Christmas, but I don’t love the consumerism of it. If and when I decide to have a family, we’re going to keep all of the meaning and magic and Christmas spirit that has been ingrained in me through my mom and grandparents, but we’re going to drop the consumerism. Care to join me?

Merry Christmas, and happy holidays to those who are celebrating differently around this time of year.

Peace.

3 Responses to “Christmas”

  1. molly s. December 24, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    writing this before reading:

    I LOVE YOU A BUNCH.

    • molly s. December 24, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

      Finished reading:

      love you a bunch still. don’t move farther from me. damn south america!

  2. Carrie December 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    So this is the second blog post I’ve read in the last ten minutes about what is wrong with Christmas. But the first person’s blog post was a load of shit. And yours is totally legitimate. I agree that having fun and family and focusing on spending time together is the best part of the holiday (and part of why I like it more than Hanukah) and obviously, it’s not religious for me either, haha! But seriously, I agree about the consumerism. If I ever have a family, I am going to encourage them to enjoy Christmas as a day to embrace happiness.
    PS MISS YA BITCH

Leave a Reply

