Thanksgiving

25 Nov

I feel that since it’s Thanksgiving, I must do the requisite “What I’m thankful for” post. See here for the basics I am thankful for. It’s a list of things people (especially those of us who live in wealthy countries) take for granted on a daily, if not hourly, basis. The list includes things like clean water, housing, parents, and food.

Today’s post, however, is more about the individual parts of my life for which I am thankful.

First and foremost, I am thankful for my mom and brother. They are my very best friends in the entire world, and they know me better than anyone else. No matter what happens in life, they will always be with me.

I am thankful for my friends, new and old. My friends are the people who get me through life on a daily basis. It has been said that friends are the family we choose. That couldn’t be more true in my life. Every one of my friends is part of a family I’ve chosen to create, and I couldn’t be happier.

I am thankful for music, which should be fairly obvious given the posts I’ve done on this blog regarding music. Anyone who knows me understands that music is a central part of my life. You won’t ever catch me without my iPod in or a song on my lips. One of my goals for the rest of the school year is to start practicing piano again, because it’s so close to my heart.

I am thankful for animals, especially dogs. I’m having two dogs stay at my house this Thanksgiving break, and I’m looking forward to some very necessary pet therapy. For whatever reason, dogs help heal emotional and psychological wounds. I think it’s probably because they are always hopeful, always happy, always excited to be around people. I can never feel bad when I’m around wagging tails.

I am grateful for books. Finding a good book is a great joy of life. I will never tire of exploring new stories, learning about new characters, inhabiting new worlds.

I am thankful for being alive and enjoying it. Many people do not live as long as I’ve been able to, and many people who are alive are suffering – emotionally, physically, psychologically. I am grateful and lucky to have a life which I enjoy.

I am thankful for all of you who are reading this. I’m so glad you think it’s worth it to read my thoughts, and I hope you will contribute some of you own.

Happy Thanksgiving.

One Response to “Thanksgiving”

  1. molly s. November 25, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Lets be honest… I am mostly thankful for you and beef stew.

Leave a Reply

