17 Aug

Majorly jealous of my friends who are heading to the Femme Conference in San Francisco this weekend.

Interested to hear about it when they get back.

Also, curious about how straight, cissexual people fit into events like the femme conference. If I were to attend (although I don’t consider myself strictly straight) would I be welcomed, feel out of place, be ignored, be mistaken for L, G, T, I, or A? I’d like to hear thoughts about that.

3 Responses to “”

  1. Jessica Annabelle August 17, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Dude! and check out the line up: http://www.femmecollective.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=53&Itemid=44

    its SUCH a queer female thing…lesbian female thing. what about the femme men? fairies, nellies, drag queens, sweethearts, sissies, wusses, little boys who’s favorite colors are pink, dandies, foppish sorts? idk. some of them are probs femme.

    will report back on demographics, barries, exclusivity and inclusivity in addition to bomb outfits.

  2. Melinda August 17, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Sounds interesting, but crap, conferences are expensive! Lots of the bios list people as being from Oakland, which is pretty cool. And honestly, looking at the list of workshops, I don’t think anyone would assume that you’re A, since there’s a ton of sex and nothing as far as I can see that’s explicitly asexual-friendly. I don’t think people would assume you’re in any of the other categories either, for that matter, only that you’re femme or a femme ally, but I could be totally wrong on that.

    • annanettie August 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      This is the cheapest conference I’ve heard of in a long time. It was only $50 for early registration!

Leave a Reply

