Books

16 Aug

Books I’ve read this summer:

  1. Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano
  2. Yes Means Yes: Visions of Female Sexual Power and a World Without Rape edited by Jessica Valenti and Jaclyn Friedman
  3. Nobody Passes edited by Mattilda
  4. South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami
  5. Lethal Logic: Exploding the Myths that Paralyze American Gun Policy by Dennis A. Henigan

Books I checked out but didn’t have time to read:

  1. The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan
  2. Nickel and dimed : on (not) getting by in America by Barbara Ehrenreich.
  3. Columbine by Dave Cullen

Books I’ve put on my Amazon wishlist:

  1. The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You by S. Bear Bergman
  2. Butch is a Noun by same as above
  3. Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation by Kate Bornstein
  4. Colonize This!: Young Women of Color on Today’s Feminism (Live Girls) by Daisy Hernandez
  5. Feminist Theory: From Margin to Center by bell hooks
  6. Sexual Fluidity: Understanding Women’s Love and Desire by Lisa M. Diamond
  7. Undoing Gender by Judith Butler
  8. Rent Girl by Michelle Tea
  9. The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander
  10. Texas Tough: The Rise of America’s Prison System by Robert Perkinson
  11. Colorblind: The Rise of Post-Racial Politics and the Retreat from Racial Equity by Tim J. Wise
  12. Ain’t I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism by bell hooks
  13. The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology by INCITE! Women of Color Against Violence
  14. How Nonviolence Protects the State by Peter Gelderloos
  15. Genderqueer: Voices from beyond the sexual binary by Joan Nestle

Books I hope to (miraculously) finish by friday, when I leave for school:

  1. The Revolution Will Not Be Funded: Beyond the Non-Profit Industrial Complex

If I can’t finish it, this book will also go on my wish list. I love the library because it gives me access to so many books, but also hate the fact that I can’t keep them/read them at my leisure/highlight or otherwise mark in them.

Books I would recommend (both from my summer reading, and past reading experiences):

  1. Whipping Girl
  2. Yes Means Yes
  3. Nobody Passes
  4. Lethal Logic
  5. Give Me Liberty by Naomi Wolf
  6. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (the entire series. also, watch the movies. See Dan’s post here about that.)
  7. The Book Thief
  8. Blindness
  9. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle (and all other Haruki Murakami books)
  10. The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf (it’s a little old, but still contains a bunch of messages that are really important, especially for young women)

I wish I could give more recommendations, but you’ll just have to wait until I get more of those books and have time to read them.

I LOVE BOOKS ALL THE TIME. In case you hadn’t noticed. If any of you would like to buy me any of these books or others you think I would find interesting, go right ahead.

Love.

4 Responses to “Books”

  1. Melinda August 16, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Oh wow! The first three books are books I really want to read, and I haven’t heard of the other two, but they sound great too. The wishlist and recommended list sound awesome too. Thanks for posting this. 😀

  2. Molly August 16, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Michael Pollan can suck a big fat one.

    • annanettie August 17, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      what’d he do?

      • Molly August 17, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

        I read him in my biology class and it just about ruined everything about his books for me.

Leave a Reply

