PETA Fail

3 Aug

I’m a vegetarian, mostly. I eat organic, free-range, cage-free, non-antibiotic meat, but since I’m a college student, and that’s hard to come by on a college campus, I’m vegetarian for most of the year. I think factory farming is disgusting, both for personal health reasons and because it’s cruel to animals. I don’t like to explain all of that to most people, so I usually just say I’m vegetarian when I’m eating with new people (if they ask, that is) and then move on. Because of that, many people might assume that I would be likely to ally myself with PETA. Well, those people would be wrong.

PETA has demonstrated, again and again, that they will exploit women in any way possible in order to further animal rights. Obviously, as I stated above, I believe animals deserve to live, roam and eat freely and naturally.  But I do not believe that the way to get other people to agree with me is by playing on the insecurities and vulnerabilities of women.

These are the ads PETA has run in the past that really piss me off, and the reasons why:

1.This plays to the idea that, in order to be a woman, you must be clean-shaven and smooth at all times. Women who choose to let their hair grow are ridiculed. Thanks, PETA, for letting us know how we all need to be grooming ourselves. Because it’s totally your business what I do in the shower.

2. Be comfortable in your own skin, but only if you’re thin and tan and tall and have super long hair and fit our society’s image of beauty. Here, PETA sexualizes a woman (and women) in order to get more attention for their ad.

3.  This one seems pretty self-explanatory, but in case you didn’t get it: the abuse and deaths of women all over the globe are NOT to be used as a marketing ploy. This really happens to women. Instead of PETA using the image of a dead animal, which seems to fit a lot better with the message they are supposedly trying to communicate, they use a woman. Why? Because women are livestock; because the deaths of women aren’t cause for concern or devastation, but are simply used as a shock factor, a way to get better TV ratings, a ruse to get people to pay attention to PETA’s ad. This is exploitation at it’s very finest (or worst).

4. And here’s the most recent one, which prompted me to write this post. You are not beautiful unless you are thin. Going vegetarian is a good way to get thin. So  you should go vegetarian, not because you believe animals deserve to be treated well, but because you want to fit society’s standards of beauty. PETA plays to one of women’s greatest insecurities: weight. This is blatant manipulation.

PETA, you disgust me. You obviously don’t care who you alienate, or how, as long as more animals live. You put animals before people, which doesn’t fly in my book. I will continue to be a (mostly) vegetarian, but not because you convinced me to be. In fact, my beliefs are in spite of everything you’ve done. Until you stop using women as selling points and advertising gimmicks, you won’t get my support.

4 Responses to “PETA Fail”

  1. Melinda August 6, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    PETA is disgusting. I collected some examples of its misogyny, racism, fat hatred, and more on this page: https://docs.google.com/View?id=dd28p6qd_652hn6r32dg
    some of these campaigns are literally sickening, and not because they highlight animal abuse.

    • annanettie August 6, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks for the link! And thanks for reading! ❤

    • yahdiel Morales June 25, 2011 at 4:51 am #

      Hey, I don’t like PETA almost at all, but being in the PR and Advertising business I understand why they do this. If not just to show that being vegan can lead to a healthier and slim figure; they also do it to shock people to get our attention so that we stop for a moment i our busy lives and think: “wait this burger that I have is not only hurting my body but its also hurting the planter and on top of it all the animal that I’m eating suffered a painful life and death.” And also I thought the ad that read Human Meat was BRILLIANT, not only was it shocking and scandalous it was also true. I mean, we are so comfortable watching dead animal meat all over the place we are not even shocked by it, but if we understand that those animals are just like you and me then… things change its different. I just think you should think outside the box and not take anything literal. Ps. If you wanna get angry about woman exploitation how about you target beer ads or car ads… Thanks hope you have a fabulous guilt-free life. 🙂

  2. Charlie Pie December 1, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    PETA, extremists who use extreme, insensitive and downright rude advertising to try and push their beliefs on the rest of us. For shame, for shame.

Leave a Reply

