Children

20 Jul

Anyone who knows me well would be able to tell you exactly how I feel about children: I don’t like them. On most days, I think they are whiny and stupid and boring. They cry about things that don’t matter and like to enact the same scenarios over and over again, until I feel like my head is going to explode. That’s why I decided, finally, to stop babysitting. And I know I sound like a real grouch writing this, but I think a lot of it has to do with my need for perfection, which disables me from being goofy and making mistakes, two things that kids never seem to have a problem with.
But like I said, that’s most days. Every so often, however, I understand what it is that makes parents love their children desperately; that makes my friends enjoy babysitting more than any other job; that drives people to become teachers or pediatricians or daycare providers…
Children have an inexhaustible supply of curiosity. They want to know how and why things work. They are fascinated by the way a caterpillar becomes a monarch, the relationships between people, how flowers grow. They are perceptive beyond belief, and can pick up on the emotions of adults all around them. Children like to do the same activities repeatedly because they can find something new to be joyful about, each and every time.
They look at the world around them with big, huge eyes and believe in its wonder. More than anything else, I admire that about children. If we all believed in the beauty of the world the way children do, I think we would live in an entirely different place. My mom has said that when my brother and I were babies, just watching us roll around in the grass was the highlight of her day. She got to watch us explore and learn about the world in new ways all the time.
People love children because, as they explore and embrace the world around them, we remember what it’s like to see life through a child’s eyes.

One Response to “Children”

  1. Molly July 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    First thing I have to say is that I major LO’edL at the first couple sentences.

    Second, I would just like to say how nice it is to know that while you do not like children, you at least understand them. As you know, I love children. You are right about all the negative things they do, but then they grow up and you have the really great honor (hopefully) of knowing that you instilled as much knowledge, morals, and hopefully happiness as you possibly could in them. I think my favorite thing about children is close to their interest and curiosity of the world around them. I, personally, really enjoy the innocence of childhood. Things were a lot simpler when I was a just a kid, and I did not even realize it! It is amazing how things like relationships, material possessions, knowledge, and just everything in the world around you actually starts to act as a weight. You change because of this, and I like knowing and seeing that there are people in this world still free of this. There are people in this world that are still happy, and goofy, and funny, and without worries. That is a great thing to witness… and experience.

Leave a Reply

