Surprise!

4 Aug

Two organizations/events that I usually regard as huge fails have done some stuff recently (or have some members) that make me feel good.

Miss New York, a contender in the upcoming Miss America Pageant, is running on a gay rights platform. I still have some serious problems with the pageant itself, but I’ll be rooting for Miss New York, nonetheless. Read more about it here.

The Girl Scouts, which I’m proud to say I was never a member of (mostly because that means I escaped the typical WFB activities successfully) are launching a campaign to improve and promote positive body images in young girls. Read more about that here.

Keep it coming, outdated organizations. I’d like to see more of you catching up to the 21st century.

2 Responses to “Surprise!”

  1. Dan August 5, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    The WFB chapter might suck specifically (I have absolutely no idea) but the national organization is and almost always has been pretty awesome. They’ve taken all the good parts of Boy Scouts (encouraging self-sufficiency, good citizenship, honor, trustworthiness and the teaching of practical skills) but made it much more inclusive. The national BSA organization, which shares no association with the Girl Scouts, doesn’t allow atheists/agnostics or openly gay people to participate. I was a Cub Scout my entire childhood and a Boy Scout for a few years, and one of the biggest reasons I left was that I didn’t want to be part of an organization that didn’t consider me as good as them just because I don’t believe. Girl Scouts don’t play that shit.

    Also, MLK once called them “a force for desegregation” for their efforts during the Civil Rights Movement, and troops often partner with Planned Parenthood to provide girls with effective sex education. They are progressive as hell, try to instill girls with a positive self-image (physical and otherwise) and the cookies are goddamn great. Girl Scouts rule.

    • annanettie August 5, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks for the info :) I’ll try to look more kindly upon them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

